UC Davis Agricultural and Resource Economics

Scott Somerville: 2023 ARE Scott McNiven Community Service Award

June 23, 2023

The graduate students in ARE selected Scott Somerville to receive the 2023 Scott McNiven Community Service Award. The award is given each year to the ARE graduate student whose actions—through mentoring other students, creating and strengthening collaborative intellectual spaces, organizing social activities, or investing in public goods—best exemplify the principles of community that Scott held so dear. Throughout his graduate career, Somerville has contributed greatly to the ARE community.

According to the student nominator:

“Scott has diligently served the ARE community in many roles throughout his time at UCD, including: organizing First Fridays, serving on the social committee, formerly coordinating the Agricultural Workshop, and this year serving as the GSA President. From his very first year, Scott has hosted many parties for the ARE students, and anyone in attendance has been treated to his incredible baking. He’s worked really hard to reinvigorate our student community after the strain of remote learning, for example by being part of the effort to get CBD to its former glory. He’s always the first to volunteer for any task that will keep our community spirit thriving.

Scott is great at sharing resources with other students, particularly resources for fellow international students. He’s very approachable and always willing to lend an ear to fellow students. This even extends beyond the graduate program to the weekly Student Cafe where he engages with undergraduate students. Scott is a friend to all and goes out of his way to support those who traditionally don’t feel as welcomed into the economics profession. Between spending countless hours on the picket line for benefits that will be seen after he graduates to preparing meals for admitted students, Scott’s selfless nature is evident and will have a lasting impact on the department.”

This year there were five nominations for the award. In addition to Scott Somerville, nominees included: Isy Picciotto, Tina Kotsakou, Bethany Rader, and James Hasbany. We thank them all for their contributions to the ARE graduate community this year!


More News

Contact Us

2116 Social Sciences and Humanities
University of California, Davis
One Shields Avenue
Davis, CA 95616

Main Office: 530-752-1515
Student Advising Services: 530-754-9536
DeLoach Conference Room: 530-752-2916
Main Conference Room: 530-754-1850